Host a Contest! Contest Rules Registration Contest Details Results Links
Welcome to the Pacific NW Region Programming Contest! The Pacific NW Region is comprised of the following areas: Alaska, Hawaii, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, northern/central California and western Nevada. Because of the large geographic area of the region, the contest is held simultaneously at multiple sites: Northern California, Northwest (Oregon), Northeast (E. WA and Idaho), Puget Sound (Western Washington), Canada, and Hawaii.


  • 2016 Contest will be Saturday, November 5
    • NOTE: Canada site has limited space so if you attend that site please limit your team count to a maximum of 5.  If there is sufficient space after schools have registered, a sixth team will be allowed.  Thank you!
  • One of our top long-term contest sponsors, Coursera, wants you!
    • If you have interest in an internship or even full time position, and your team solved 4 or more problems in D1 or 8 or more problems in D2, Coursera would love to talk to you. Coursera provides the following services and benefits: Coursera provides universal access to the world’s best education, partnering with top universities and organizations to offer courses online. We have very competitive comp/equity packages, free online courses, unlimited PTO, Free catered lunches and dinner, and more!! You can contact them at
  • There are two divisions again in 2016   
    • Division 1 (D1) is for teams that are very strong algorithmically.  The D1 problem set will be difficult.  It will be along the lines of a lite version of what you would see at World Finals.  Only D1 teams are eligible for slots in the World Finals.
    • Division II (D2) is approachable for teams that have not completed the algorithm sequence at their school and/or have not competed in programming contests before.  Almost all problems in D2 can be solved using techniques at the CS1 and CS2 levels.  Most teams in this division have a great chance at solving many problems.  If a team does well in this division this year, that team should try D1 next year!  Participating in D2 will not count against your eligibility for World Finals in future years (other than the rules established by ICPC itself based on age/year in school -- see the Contest Rules tab above for more information on the ICPC rules).  When registering a team for D2, include 'D2' at the beginning of the team name.  
    • The following zip file contains three problems that serve as a baseline for competing in Division 1.  If a team cannot solve these three problems, that team should compete in Divsion 2.  The file contains input, output, and solutions to each problem along with a README that includes hints.  The file size is ~15MB.
    • Check the two division FAQ for more details
  • We will once again support Python.  We will support Python 2 and 3.  We are also supporting C# via the Mono Project.  Please see the Details tab for more information.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE:  In the future, if you are interested and capable of hosting, please contact the regional director Tom Capaul at: and/or  Costs of the contest (food, t-shirts, balloons, etc.) are covered by the PacNW region.  As a host school your teams participate for free.


Final Results

  • November 3 is the contest date for the 2012 contest

  • Site update still in progress...

  • On contest day, registration will begin at 9am PST (just as with 2011), not 8am as in previous years to accommodate the 3 hour time difference the Hawaii site faces.

  • Registration will close on Wednesday, October 31.  Any teams registering after October 26 are not guaranteed t-shirts and a spot in the contest (if the site they wish to participate at is full, they cannot compete).

  • You have the ability to register up to 5 teams for the contest, provided your site has room to accommodate them.  Each school has the opportunity to register 3 teams (room permitting at site), guaranteed, through Friday, October 26.  After this point, schools that want to register a 4th and/or 5th team will officially be allowed to do so (room permitting at site).

  • For problems that require input, that input will come from stdin.  In previous years input was read from a file.  For more details, visit this link:

  • Each problem will have a time limit specific to that problem.  The time limit will be specified as part of each problem statement.  In past years all problems had a default time limit of 120 seconds.  For more details, visit this link:

  • Judge responses are the same as last year to attempt to provide better feedback on team submissions.  For more details, please visit this link:

  • Contest start time has been moved back one hour relative to previous years.  This is to accommodate the Hawaii site so they do not have to register at 5am (now they can register at 6am :-).  Thus registration for mainland sites begins at 9am and the actual contest will start somewhere around 1pm.  For more details, please visit this link:

  • Email any questions to:  

2016 SITES:

Available to all registered student contestants, reserves, student coaches, and student volunteers for the Regionals!
Learn More

2015 PacNW Contest

Locally Sponsored by:

Dropbox Flickr Hearsay Social NextIT

Dropbox Flickr Hearsay Social


2015 Final Standings
November 14, 2015

The Top 10 (Div I):
1Stanford Cardinal
2 Berkeley Blue
3 Stanford White
4Stanford Red
5 UBC+
6 Stanford Band
7 Orz (U of Wash)
8 SFU Royal 
9 UBC!
10 Eternal Flame (U of Wash)
The Top 10 (Div II):
1 Uvic Cyan
2 UBC*
3 UBC^ 
4 areke (BYUH)
5 char broiled; (George Fox)
6 UBC&
7 AlgoGriffins (Reid)
8 justINtime (UC Davis)
9 cout<<TeamName (Linfield)
10 Lute Octothorpe (PLU)

Final Standings Link

2015 Site Champions:
  • Northern California 
    • Div 1: Stanford Cardinal
    • Div 2: justINtime (UC Davis)
  • Northwest (Oregon): 
    • Div 1: Little Bobby Tables (George Fox)
    • Div 2: char broiled; (George Fox)
  • Puget Sound (Western Wash): 
    • Div 1: Orz (U of Washington)
    • Div 2: Lute Octothorpe (PLU)
  • Canada (BC): 
    • Div 1: UBC+ (U British Columbia)
    • Div 2: UVic Cyan (University of Victoria)
  • Hawaii:
    • Div 1: 00FF00 (HPU)
    • Div 2: areke (BYU Hawaii)
  • Northeast: 
    • Div 1: Pirates (Whitworth)
    • Div 2: Vandal Silver (U of I)

THANK YOU to our wonderful 2015 site director volunteers:
  • Simon Fraser University - Binay Bhattacharya
  • University of Puget Sound - Adam Smith
  • George Fox University - Brent Wilson
  • University of Californai Berkeley - Paul Hilfinger
  • Brigham Young University, Hawaii - Geoff Draper
  • Eastern Washington University - Aryk Anderson
If you still have questions or require special information not found here, email the contest director: Tom Capaul ( and